HomePrint FriendlyEmail Page

Go To Search
Click to Home
About the CountyDepartmentsNew ResidentsOur MunicipalitiesOfficialsHow Do I...?
Passaic County Fast Facts
Passaic County flagOrigins of the Word Passaic
The name Passaic is of Native American origin and means valley. The Dutch settlers spelled it as Passaick.

Forming of Passaic County
Passaic County was formed in 1837 from parts of northern Essex and western Bergen counties.

Passaic County Flag
View the county flag in the photo to the right.

Population of Passaic County
According to the 2010 U.S. Census the total population of the county is 501,226. 

County Seat of Passaic County
The county seat is also our largest city, Paterson.

Governing Passaic County
The Passaic County Board of Chosen Freeholders is the governing body. This board is comprised of seven (7) members who are all elected “at large” (which means that all the voters throughout the county vote for each of them and not just voters in a specific district).

The county administrator, who is appointed by the Freeholders, oversees the day-to-day operations of the county. 

Towns in Passaic County
There are 16 towns in Passaic County:
  • Bloomingdale
  • Clifton
  • Haledon
  • Hawthorne
  • Little Falls
  • North Haledon
  • Passaic
  • Paterson
  • Pompton Lakes
  • Prospect Park
  • Ringwood
  • Totowa
  • Wanaque
  • Wayne
  • West Milford
  • Woodland Park